The Department of Microbiology focuses on medical and pharmaceutical microbiology. The medical microbiology deals with the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of infectious diseases caused by bacteria, fungi, parasites & viruses and common infections such as skin/ respiratory/ urinary/ gastrointestinal/ STD, etc. We study the characteristics of pathogens, the mode of infection and growth of microorganisms in human. The medical microbiology provides investigational / clinical inputs to physicians including the emergence of drug resistance (MDR/XDR) and suggests the treatment options. The pharmaceutical microbiology deals with microbes & pharmaceuticals, microbial secondary metabolites as well as develop pharmacopoeal standards for generic and novel drugs etc. It compasses the R&D of anti-infective agents, antibiotics, the use of microorganisms in the pharmaceutical products and other related areas. This University has also established a Centre for Drug Design Discovery and Development (C4D) to carry out the Research and Development (R&D) activities to discover new drugs against infectious diseases of bacterial, viral and parasitic with a special focus for neglected diseases like TB, Kala azar, Dengue, Chikungunya, Malaria, etc.

Courses Offered

Postgraduate Courses

Master of Science (M.Sc.) - Microbiology

Duration: 2 years

Eligibility:  Candidates must have passed graduation or an equivalent examination in any discipline in any field of Life Sciences / Microbiology / Biology / Biotechnology and Medical Laboratory Technology, or in their respective branch from UGC recognized University with 50% marks in aggregate.

Fee : 50,000/- p.a.


Ph.D. - Microbiology


Candidates must have passed Post graduation in the relevant discipline from a UGC recognized University with 50% marks in aggregate. However an applicant with M.Phil/CSIR-UGC/JRF/NET/SLET cleared in the relevant subject is exempted from Entrance test.

As per UGC notification of 5th May 2016 Minimum duration for Ph.D. is 3 years including course work and maximum of 6 years (full time / part time).

Fee : 1,25,000/- p.a.


Name Designation
Professor Simon Croft Visiting Professor
Dr. V. Samuel Raj Professor & Dean Academics